Anna’s Outfits

Today, I sat down with my other favorite princess for a photo shoot. I wanted to showcase the variety of outfits and accessories I have from my various Anna dolls. But first, a word about my love for Anna.

Ariel has been my undisputed favorite since The Little Mermaid was released. I’ve enjoyed many of the movies and characters since then, but none of them captured my love the way Ariel did. But when Frozen was announced, I realized that Anna could be the first to challenge Ariel’s prime place in my heart. Even before I saw the movie, I was excited, because I love Kristen Bell (the actress who voiced her), and I had a feeling that her character would be very relatable for me.

When I finally saw the movie, Anna surpassed all of my expectations for her. I instantly adored her optimism and humor, as well as her devotion to her sister. But the part of her story that touched me the most is her romance subplot. I’d avoided spoilers for the movie, but Prince Hans raised my suspicions from the moment that I saw him, and I feared that he would break Anna’s heart. Then my worst fears came true. But then Anna did something that really inspired me–when her first love disappointed her, she found someone else even better. The moment when Kristoff asks Anna for permission to kiss her, instead of forcing himself on her, is one of my favorite scenes for showing a respectful relationship. In the end, Anna hasn’t replaced Ariel for me; they are both my favorites for different reasons.

My current marriage is not my first one. I won’t go into detail, but suffice it to say that my first husband was a not-so-charming ‘prince’ ala Hans. But like Anna, I was really fortunate to find my “happily ever after” in the end. Last year, I was on a Disney cruise and used the opportunity to meet Elsa and Anna (without the long lines of the parks). Anna noticed that my husband was with me to take the picture, and asked me if I was a “Love Expert”, and to give her some advice. My advice to her was not to give up–that if the first “love” doesn’t work out, you should keep looking for someone who treats you right. Anna hugged me then, and I felt like she understood a little about what I’d been through.

My picture with Anna and Elsa
My picture with Anna and Elsa

On to the doll photos! We’ll start with Classic Anna in her snow gear.

Classic Anna
Classic Anna

This doll really captures Anna’s personality to me. Her eyes look up and off into the distance, as if she is dreaming about her “first time in forever”. Her smile is a little lopsided, turning up on one side more than the other. She has a delicate sprinkling of freckles across her cheeks and nose. She’s so sweet.

Anna's snow gear
Anna shivering in her snow gear

There are many accurate details in this outfit, including print mimicking the embroidery on her dress, the soft mittens, the purple ruff on her hat and the heart-shaped clasp on her cape. I know some versions of this doll have omitted some of these details to save money, but fortunately even though this is the affordable Classic doll (which is often $10 when buying two or more), everything is included. The quality is nice enough to display while sturdy enough for play.

Anna looking shy
Anna looking shy

Her dress also looks lovely without the snow gear. She seemed shyer to me this way, so I leaned her against the wall with her hands clasped behind her back. Without her hat on, you can also see her hair more easily, with that significant white streak in her right braid.

Singing Anna in her coronation dress
Singing Anna in her coronation dress

Next is Singing Anna, who wears her green dress for her sister’s coronation as queen. Her hair is up in a formal bun for the occasion. When you turn her left hand, she sings part of “For the First Time in Forever”. This doll also comes with a large number of accessories, which leads to a number of scene possibilities.

Anna swooning against the wall
Anna swooning against the wall

Anna’s flexible articulation means she can swoon dramatically . . .

Anna wrapped in the curtain
Anna wrapped in the curtain

. . . or even playfully wrap herself in a curtain, leading to this iconic moment:

Anna fetchingly draped against the wall
Anna fetchingly draped against the wall

The picture of sophisticated grace!

Anna holding her fan
Anna holding her fan

With a little help from a clear rubber band, Anna can also hold her pink fan, one of the included accessories.

Anna with a table of goodies for the party
Anna with a table of goodies for the party

Anna was tempted by the chocolate cake. She came with this chocolate cake, and also the purple cake on the right with the bust smashed into the top. The other accessories and the table are from my Gloria dining set.

I want to stuff some chocolate in my face!
I want to stuff some chocolate in my face!

There are some limits to posability and balance. This is the closest I could get to Anna hiding her face with her fan while she leans down and stuffs chocolate into her mouth. Her left arm can’t bend (because it has the wires for the singing activation inside). I may try this again in the future by putting a different doll in this dress, but for now, enjoy my best attempt.

Anna and the ducklings
Anna and the ducklings

Anna also comes with these adorable ducklings and their mother, for the moment when she imagines making new friends at the party. With a little finagling, the ducklings can balance in her hands.

Who knew we owned eight thousand salad plates?
Who knew we owned eight thousand salad plates?

I don’t have quite as many plates as are mentioned in the song, but I did manage to get one into her hand!

Frozen Fever Anna
Frozen Fever Anna

Finally, I also have a Frozen Fever Anna. This one also has her hair up in a bun, but since it’s the sequel, she no longer has her signature white streak in her hair. This doll was more expensive ($35 for a set of Anna and Elsa), so it’s not surprising that her outfit is so detailed. Note the bracelet on her wrist, a birthday present from her sister. She also has a tulle petticoat to make her dress poof out.

Anna and the ducklings
Anna and the ducklings

Anna’s birthday is in the spring, which is prime time for ducklings, so I used these little guys for a second set of pictures.

Anna with Mama Duck
Anna with Mama Duck

Mama Duck can sit perfectly in Anna’s lap.

Anna on the swing
Anna on the swing

Singing Anna also came with this lovely swing, but I decided to use it for the Frozen Fever Anna. It took a little work to get her to balance properly, but I managed to get a number of fun poses.

Anna leans back on the swing
Anna leans back on the swing
Will you push me, Elsa?
Will you push me, Elsa?

Anna persuaded her sister to come out and push her on the swing. Now Anna is certainly old enough to go on the swing by herself, but as someone with two younger sisters, I know how much they love to be pushed. Since Elsa is finally out of her room, she has a lot of big sisterly duties to catch up on!

Elsa pushing Anna on the swing
Elsa pushing Anna on the swing

For the final picture, I lined up all three Annas together. I think they’re already best friends!

A trio of Annas
A trio of Annas

I hope you enjoyed this photo shoot! I loved working with Anna’s range of scenes and accessories. I hope to get some time for an Ariel shoot soon. She doesn’t have any other outfits (yet), but I’ll do my best to put her in some creative poses.

Leave a Reply

