My New Prince Dolls: Eric, Flynn/Eugene, Kristoff (and Rapunzel!)

So yesterday, when I was at the Disney Store hoping to get the new Designer set, I saw that the Classic dolls were also on sale. Although I hadn’t planned on buying any additional dolls but the deal was too good to pass up. ($14.50 for the first one, and $1 for the second!) I ended up choosing four to add to my collection. Unfortunately, some of the dolls I wanted weren’t available (notably the Beast and Merida), but I settled on getting three princes and Rapunzel.

First of all, Prince Eric from The Little Mermaid. Although Ariel is my favorite character, I’m not crazy about Eric, so I did question whether I wanted this doll at first.

My favorite feature is his gray eyes.
My favorite feature is his gray eyes.

But it turned out that Eric and Ariel are really cute together, so I’m happy I got him after all.

The Little Mermaid
The Little Mermaid

Now that I have Eric, it’s probably inevitable that I’ll get all of The Little Mermaid dolls. I’d really love to get the Deluxe Doll set from a few years ago which includes Ariel, Eric, King Triton, Ursula, and Vanessa. However, I’m saving up my money for now to get the rest of the Heroes & Villains designer sets, so that one will have to wait.

Sebastian and Flounder
Sebastian and Flounder

I’d also like Ariel’s friends in a better scale. Here, Flounder is too small and Sebastian is too big. I think the two that come with the Singing Ariel doll are better, so I also want that set. This is the struggle of collecting dolls–there are always more dolls to buy!

Ariel and Eric holding hands
Ariel and Eric holding hands

One of the sweetest parts of this couple is that I can make them gaze into each other’s eyes. That turned out to be more difficult with my other dolls, so I appreciate these two all the more.

Rapunzel and Pascal
Rapunzel and Pascal

Next up, I couldn’t walk away without getting at least one princess, so here’s Rapunzel! She’s so much more accurate than the Mattel version I got recently. Pascal is excited to see her, too!

Rapunzel holding Pascal
Rapunzel holding Pascal

Rapunzel can also hold Pascal. I’d like a Pascal figure that was separate so he could sit on her shoulder, but it’s also cute the way he’s perched on a paintbrush. One of my planned projects (out of too many!) is to create an art studio “tower” with easels and paints for Rapunzel to be creative in.

Close-up of Rapunzel
Close-up of Rapunzel

Here’s a close-up of Rapunzel’s beautiful face. Her eyes are so strikingly detailed. I’m absolutely in love with her. Also, the closer I look at this doll, the more I can see the resemblance to my daughter. We call her Rapunzel because they share more than just long blonde hair–my daughter is also a talented artist, baker, seamstress, you name it! And she also shares Rapunzel’s optimism and high energy. From the moment we saw Tangled, we all agreed who she was. I had to get this doll to respresent her.

Flynn Rider aka Eugene Fitzherbert
Flynn Rider aka Eugene Fitzherbert

With Rapunzel, I also wanted to get Flynn/Eugene! Disney labels this doll “Flynn Rider”, but anyone who’s seen Tangled knows that his real name is Eugene Fitzherbert. (My husband considers the name to be in the same realm as Engelbert Humperdinck., and makes fun of it, but I prefer Eugene.)

Here comes the smolder
Here comes the smolder

He has a little bit of a smile, but that doesn’t really capture how expressive this character’s face normally is. However, he still has nicely sculpted hair and a goatee. (I’m a sucker for goatees–my husband has one, too.) Unlike Eric, his boots don’t really help him stand on his own very well and he kept leaning forward slowly until he toppled over, so in this closer picture, I’m holding him up at the ankles.

Tangled
Tangled

But the real treat is when I put these dolls together. Eugene and Rapunzel both look straight ahead, so they can’t gaze into each other’s eyes easily, but they also look sweet when they look at the camera together. With Rapunzel in my only doll stand, Eugene was able to lean against her and not fall over. Pascal completes the Tangled cast picture–for now. (Next time I see a Mother Gothel doll, I’ll have to get her to round out the set. Also, next week Rapunzel and Mother Gothel are the Heroes & Villains designer set–fingers crossed that I get this one, too!)

Eugene and Rapunzel
Eugene and Rapunzel

Here they are up close. Here Rapunzel’s head looks a little large compared to Eugene’s, but they’re still cute. This couple is central in my main doll display right now, and they always make me smile when I see them.

Kristoff from Frozen
Kristoff from Frozen

The final doll I bought yesterday is Kristoff from Frozen. His oversized boots make it impossible for him to stand on his own, so I went straight for the doll stand. He’s bundled up for cutting ice. I find Kristoff’s character design to be very interesting because I learned last year, at the Norway Pavilion in Epcot, that he’s based on the traditional outfit of the Sami, the indigenous people of Scandinavia.

Southern Sami Man
Southern Sami Man’s outfit

The Sami are a nomadic tribe living in the north of Finland, Sweden, Norway and Russia. They follow herds of reindeer which they depend on for their livelihood. It’s a pretty harsh life near the Arctic Circle, but they’re experts who have survived for at least five thousand years! Kristoff and his reindeer pal Sven are part of a long-standing tradition of reindeer herding. I’m interested in Scandinavian cultures because my family is Swedish, and I hope to visit my relatives there someday. My Frozen dolls join my Americal Girl doll, Kirsten, who also has some traditional Scandinavian outfits.

Close-up of Kristoff
Close-up of Kristoff

Kristoff is quite adorable up close. I thought he looked a little stern at first, but someone else commented that he looked shy, and I like that interpretation better. We know that Kristoff likes “reindeers” better than people, so he would be awkward posing for pictures.

Kristoff and Anna
Kristoff and Anna

Both Kristoff and Anna look ready to tackle the fiercest winter storm. Their outfits are a little too warm for the current California fall–it’s about 85 degrees Fahrenheit in mid-October today–but they’d be comfortable on a sleigh ride. Once again, when I put Anna in the doll stand, Kristoff was able to stand by putting his arm around her, so his oversized boots aren’t a complete handicap.

Friendly Anna and shy Kristoff
Friendly Anna and shy Kristoff

Here, it’s pretty obvious that Anna is cheerfully smiling into the camera, but Kristoff is glancing shyly off to the side. They’re quite adorable together. Both have a healthy sprinkling of freckles, so they’ve been getting some sunlight despite the winter weather. (By the way, my skin is just a little too dark to freckle, but my red-haired sister gets them in spades when she goes out in the sun. So I always wanted freckles as a child, while my sister hated hers. Grass is always greener, I guess–but it gives me a certain fondness for freckled dolls.)

Anna looking up at Kristoff
Anna looking up at Kristoff

That’s all of my new pictures for today! I’m looking forward to many more pictures with these new dolls in the future. I hope you enjoyed seeing some of the new princes. Stay tuned for future photo shoots–Halloween is exploding all over my house right now, so you may be seeing more holiday-themed scenes soon.

Leave a Reply

