Rapunzel’s Outfits

I already did one photoshoot with my new dolls the other day, but I wanted to spend some more time with Rapunzel. She’s just so beautiful! And since I have all of the Wardrobe & Friends sets waiting for their respective princesses, I was excited to match up another set to try on the dresses. So here’s some more Rapunzel pictures!

The floating lantern
The floating lantern

I made this floating lantern following a tutorial by the talented Rapunali17. It’s really simple if you can find an LED that’s the right size. This is a flickering “candle” LED which I’ve had for a while, so I don’t really remember where I got it. The scale might be a little large for the doll, but it looks really lovely. It was hard to take pictures in low light that showed off how it glows, but these are the best of the shots that I got.

Rapunzel and Eugene
Rapunzel and Eugene

When I put Eugene behind Rapunzel, he got lost in the shadows, so I had to turn on another light.

IMG_2547

IMG_2558

Then I also tried to take a picture with the couple looking at each other. I was a little disappointed with the limits of Eugene’s articulation. He can’t tip his head down, and he also can’t put his arms close enough together to hold Rapunzel closely. I settled for a pose where they’re dancing together.

Dancing together
Dancing together

Say good-bye to Eugene now, because we’re focusing on Punzie today.

The purple dress
The purple dress

Her classic purple dress is decorated with glitter and rhinestones. It might be a little too glamorous for Rapunzel’s adventures, but as a princess, she can’t be too plain.

Mattel vs. Disney Store
Mattel vs. Disney Store

The purple dress reminded me that I found a Mattel Rapunzel in Goodwill still in her original dress. So here’s a comparison. The colors and details are actually rather different. The Mattel doll herself doesn’t look very different from an average Barbie. She’s also shorter, so she looks like a little sister for the Disney Store doll.

The princess's crown
The princess’s crown

Rapunzel’s wardrobe set also came with her iconic crown. This crown is fairly detailed, but it comes in solid gold. I painted the jewels with nail polish. (Fun fact: the nail polish I chose is “Jetsam” from Ursula’s new make-up set.)

The lost princess
The lost princess

The crown looks perfect on Rapunzel’s head.

IMG_2586

The pink dress
The pink dress

Rapunzel’s pink dress is not very different from her purple one, so at first I thought it was only a simplified version. I looked it up and found out that Rapunzel wears it at the end of the movie when she’s reunited with her parents, the King and Queen. Properly speaking, she should have short brown hair at this point–but the short-haired doll was only made as a wedding edition for Tangled Ever After, and she’s hard to find now. (She’s on my wishlist.)

The mysterious green dress
The mysterious green dress

This green dress is a mystery because it doesn’t look like anything Rapunzel’s ever worn. Actually, the colors are closest to the dress of Cinderella’s stepsister Drizella. But I guess this set came out before her wedding short, so they had to invent a second dress for her wardrobe. Because of the green color, I actually prefer it on my Ariel doll. For Rapunzel, I don’t think it matches the green of her eyes, and it’s a little dull with her blonde hair.

Rapunzel's green dress and Pascal
Rapunzel’s green dress and Pascal

My final idea was that maybe the green matched Pascal. This is the Pascal from the same set, and the colors still seem to clash. So I still can’t explain why they chose this color for her. Oh, well. Perhaps I can find a better dress for her from a Barbie set or something.

That’s all of my pictures for today! I’m working on a few larger projects right now. I have most of the decorations finished for the Halloween party, but I’d also like to make some food. Also, Rapunzel is jealous that all of the other princess dolls have Halloween costumes, so I have to make one for her. Then I caved and decided to make one for Mulan, too. There won’t be any more tulle, so it should be easier. Keep an eye out for their new costumes soon.

Leave a Reply

